This GETC qualification is a compulsory schooling programme that must be attended by all candidates seeking to access the FET phase (grade 10-12). The GETC certification is achieved on successful completion of grade 9 according to the National Curriculum Assessment Policy Statement (CAPS).

On completion of Grades 7-9, the leaner will proceed to the FET phase. A GETC certificate may be issued at the end of this phase (Grade 9) when a senior phase (NQF: 2) is completed.

Learning Areas (All subjects are compulsory)

  • Arts and culture
  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Afrikaans
  • Natural Sciences
  • Economics & Management Science
  • Social Sciences
  • Technology
  • Life Orientation